Log in

ANNOUNCEMENT: 2017 Board of Directors Elected

13 Oct 2017 11:31 AM | Anonymous

The Australian Academy of Law is pleased to announce its board members elected at the AGM held on 25 September 2017, including two new members, Dr Nuncio D’Angelo and Mr Michael Murray.

Dr D’Angelo is a partner of Norton Rose Fulbright in Sydney and author of an established text on commercial trusts, and Mr Murray is an adviser and author in the field of personal and corporate insolvency. 

The President of the Academy the Hon Kevin Lindgren AM QC said that both have been actively involved in the work of the Academy, in particular in initiating a series of highly successful public debates on aspects of the law and ethics. Dr D’Angelo was also involved in organising the Academy’s very successful Future of Australian Legal Education conference in August, co-hosted with the Australian Law Journal. 

Dr Lindgren warmly welcomed both Nuncio and Michael to the board, and the extensive experience and knowledge they will no doubt bring to the Academy’s activities. 

Dr Lindgren also thanked the two departing board members Professor Michael Adams, of Western Sydney University and the Hon John Mansfield AM QC, recently retired Judge of the Federal Court of Australia.  Both have contributed significantly to the Academy over their long period as directors.  They of course continue as honoured Fellows of the Academy.


The Academy of Law comprises individuals of exceptional distinction in the law who are committed to the advancement of the rule of law and justice.  Its Fellows are drawn from all parts of the legal community, including academia, the practising profession, and the judiciary.

Its other board members are the Hon Justices Alan Robertson and John Digby, Emeritus Professors David Barker AM, Rosalind Croucher AM, Michael Coper, Adrian Bradbrook and the Hon Emeritus Professor Ralph Simmonds, Professors Paul Fairall, Bee Chen Goh, Les McCrimmon and Brian Opeskin, and Mr Russell Miller AM.

The patron of the Academy is the Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia, the Hon Susan Kiefel AC.

The Academy has recently hosted presentations by his Excellency Judge James Crawford AC SC FBA, a Judge of the International Court of Justice, in Sydney, and Mr Ed Santow, Australia’s Human Rights Commissioner, in Darwin, co-hosted with CDU; with following talks being given in Melbourne on 23 October by the Hon Justice Michelle Gordon, of the High Court of Australia; by Emeritus Professor Gillian Triggs in Adelaide, on 1 November; and by the Hon Robert French AC, on 29 November, in Perth. The third in the series of law and ethics debates is being held in Sydney on 20 November.

 © 2019 Australian Academy of Law
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software