

# NEWSLETTER

## [2013] No. 1 | February 2013

## Honours

I am sure that all members of the Academy join me in congratulating the following Fellows on the Honours bestowed on them in the New Year's Honours list:

The Hon Justice James Allsop AO

The Hon Justice Margaret White AO

Mr Simon Daley PSM

#### Projects

The Projects Committee, under the efficient and energetic chairmanship of Ros Croucher, continues to pursue the objective of the Board of Directors of holding at least one event in each State and Territory each year.

I am delighted to inform all Fellows that the Hon JJ Spigelman AC, QC has agreed to give the Patron's Address for 2013. The address will be given in October in the Law Courts Building in Sydney. The occasion will follow the very successful inaugural Patron's Address given by Chief Justice French last year. Members will be informed of the precise date and venue and the title of the address in due course.

Several of the State and Territory events are in place and others are being worked upon, not only by the Projects Committee, but also by the respective local Organising Committee.

In Queensland, on Monday 16 September 2013, The Hon Pat Keane, presently CJ but very soon to become J, will deliver a lecture in the Banco Court of the Supreme Court, which Chief Justice Paul de Jersey has kindly agreed to allow us to use for this important occasion. The Organising Committee chaired by Justice John Byrne with Professor Bee Chen Goh and Glenn Ferguson as members, is organising this event of which more details will be given later.

As regards Western Australia there are two matters to report. First, the Academy is supporting a Conference on "Arbitration and the Resources Sector" to be held at the Australian Institute of Management (AIM) by the AIM and the Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration (ACICA) on Thursday 16 May 2013. The driving force behind the organisation of that Conference is Academy Fellow, Emeritus Professor Gabriel Moens. Second, the Academy's own event in Western Australia will be held on the preceding night, Wednesday 15 May 2013, at which The Hon Neville Owen will speak, also on an arbitration-related subject. The local Organising Committee is chaired by Justice Ralph Simmonds, with Gabriel Moens, Paul Fairall and Bob Nicholson also as members.

In the Northern Territory, it is hoped that the Academy will join with the local Law Society and Bar as a co-sponsor of the annual Austin Asche Oration in Law and Governance on Thursday 12 September 2013. Justice Stephen Southwood and Les McCrimmon are taking the leading role in organising this event

Work is progressing on the organisation of events in the other jurisdictions and progress on them will be reported in the next Newsletter.

American Law Institute

Correspondence and telephone conversations between myself and Professor Lance Liebman have taken place over the last two or three months with a view to a visit by him and other officers of the ALI to Australia to explore opportunities for collaboration between the ALI and the AAL. I was hoping that this might happen in August to follow the Law Council of Australia/ Federal Court of Australia Conference on "International Commercial Law and Arbitration" which is to be held on 22 and 23 August.

I reported to the Academy's Board of Directors on progress with this idea at the recent meeting of the Board, which strongly supports exploring the opportunity for collaboration.

It now transpires that August is not possible from the American viewpoint. We will have to aim for a date later in the year, perhaps to coincide with the Patron's Address and the Annual General Meeting.

Watch this space!

### Cross-Border Insolvency Project

Professor Ros Mason's research team at the Queensland University of Technology is progressing with its research on this task which was described in the last Newsletter.

#### **New Fellows**

Since the last Newsletter the following have accepted the Board's invitation to become Fellows of the Academy:

The Hon Justice John Basten

The Hon Chief Justice Tom Bathurst

The Hon Justice Jenny Blokland

The Hon Justice Paul Brereton AM RFD

Professor AJ Brown

Professor James Crawford

Professor Bryan Horrigan

The Hon Justice Peter M Jacobson

Professor Natalie Klein

The Hon Chief Justice Christopher Kourakis

The Hon Justice Nye Perram

The Hon Justice Alan Robertson

The Hon Justice Julie Ward

Mr Robert John (Dick) Whitington QC

On behalf of all Fellows I warmly welcome these new members.

Kew Tindgra

Kevin Lindgren President

kevlindgren@gmail.com.au

Tel (02) 9422 2085 0414 914 827

28 February 2013