Contact Us

02 9230 8253


Would you like to sign up for eNews?

Please fill out the following fields below.


Welcome to the Australian Academy of Law


The Australian Academy of Law (sometimes called the AAL) is a broadly based body, comprising individuals of exceptional distinction in the discipline of law who are committed to the advancement of that discipline and to justice according to law in Australia.

The AAL's members (Fellows) are drawn from all parts of the legal community, including academia, the practising profession (including private and public sectors), and the judiciary.

The Academy provides a forum for cooperation, collaboration, constructive debate and exchange of views.

A distinctive feature of the Academy is that its Fellows, and therefore the Academy itself, provide a "bridge" that links, indeed unites, the judiciary, academia and the practising profession through  shared values and objectives.

The AAL was established in 2007 with discussions first taking place at the Council of Australian Law Deans.  This was followed by the Australian Law Reform Commission's report, Managing Justice: a review of the federal justice system (ALRC 89, 2000), which recommended the establishment of the Academy. 

The Academy has 35 Foundation Fellows, and as at 20 October 2016 it has 308 Fellows, five Life Fellows and eleven Overseas Fellows.



AAL Newsletter [2017] No. 3 - 27 March 2017


Please find attached Newsletter [2017] No. 3 from the Australian Academy of more

AAL Newsletter [2017] No. 2 - 24 February 2017


Please find attached Newsletter [2017] No. 2 from the Australian Academy of more

AAL Newsletter No.1 - 2 February 2017


Please find attached Newsletter [2017] No.1 from the Australian Academy of more

All News

About the Academy

Launched on 17 July 2007, the Australian Academy of Law (AAL) is the fifth learned Academy in Australia and is the culmination of a process begun with the Australian Law Reform Commission’s landmark report, Managing Justice: a review of the federal civil justice system (ALRC 89, 2000).

Read more


Australian Academy of Law Ethics Hypothetical: "The law and lawyers: their limits?"


When: 5.30pm, Tuesday 4 April 2017 Where: Ceremonial Court of the more

'Bringing science, technology and law together to solve the illegal fishing challenge'


Speaker: Professor Erika J Techera, FAAL, Director, UWA Oceans Institute more

View Calendar All Events
Copyright Australian Academy of Law 2013